Art Critic cares not for Banksy, street art

The video embedded below appears to be companion footage to Exit through the Gift Shop. I pulled the quote from the footage below because I have been thinking about street art’s legitimacy in the art world, specifically the role of a street art critic –

” To me there is nothing interesting about Banksy, no…

I would never have said this 5 years ago, when there wasn’t this big thing about him. When I saw his stuff around, I thought that’s an entertaining bit of rubbish on the wall.

But now I’m supposed to take all this stuff seriously, and I don’t really know what I am supposed to say. It’s quite obvious that it isn’t really anything.

When people queue up to see a Banksy show or they’re paying hundreds and thousands of pounds at Sotheby’s, I don’t feel disparaged, or bewildered or baffled, I mean it’s a sort of social phenomenon. People suddenly get a craze… it’s a combination of accessible and weird and exotic   ”

Matthew Collings, Art Critic

note the vimeo user name

One Comment on “Art Critic cares not for Banksy, street art”

  1. Jayne says:

    This should be mandatory viewing for the rabid supporters of every smartphone system.The only people that win out of this crazy system we’ve ended up with are lawyers. Everyone else lolEe.excsslent ending to the series.


Leave a Reply

