Chicagoans create art on iPhones

All this digital art is beginning to get on my nerves. Why do I need a machine to make art? To view art? Everyone is glued to their “magical internet machines”…. am I alone in using art to disconnect from the web? :

Realizing the important doors technology opens for artists, Chicago Art Department program and exhibition coordinator, Mike Norse, led a class of ten local artists who combined talents in digital sketching, animation, photography, sound and video with the aim of a culminating group exhibition titled, iPhone Therefore I Am. Collaborating with national and international iPhone artists from as far away as Russia, Norway, Spain, France, and Germany, the local artists unveil their show and creations in the new year.

via Chicago Artists Create iPhone Masterpieces – Chicagoist.

What about the artists who don’t use an i-phone… or can’t afford one? What happened to all the starving artists? Oh, right. They went into advertising!

Maybe it’s time I organized my own raid on an Apple store….

[youtubevid id=”KZ_rUmbQMf4″]

4 Comments on “Chicagoans create art on iPhones”

  1. Marc Flores says:

    I actually like the guy who did the New Yorker artwork on his iPhone.

    I guess artists are finding new ways to create with technology – cell phones, Digital SLRs, LED lights and all kinds of techno-junk sometimes lend themselves to good art.

    But I feel ya with the analog art, too. Seeing a drawing, sculpture or painting invokes something in me that a photograph or digital rendering can’t. I don’t know how to describe it.

    • Fruzsina Eordogh says:

      Ok, I admit, that is a pretty sweet painting by Colombo.

      There is something about art that is handmade, that incorporates materials from “the real world”, that I find satisfying. I want to see the blood and sweat that went into the art. Maybe this is the feeling you are talking about? Art made on machines just feels, or seems, “too easy”, even if it is anything but. And then there’s the question of being able to view the art. Shouldn’t it be able to stand on it’s own?

      I guess a big part of modern life revolves on machines so it’s only natural we would use them to make art. Bah.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tweets Tube and koach, Abdul Mutlib. Abdul Mutlib said: Chicagoans create art on iPhones http://bit.ly/6CgpX5 (via @tweetstube) […]

  3. […] Art Fag City wrote an interesting post today on&nbsp Here’s a quick excerpt &nbspVideoAll this digital art is beginning to get on my nerves. Why do I need a machine to make art? To view art? Everyone is glued to their “magical internet machines”…. am I alone in using art to disconnect from the web? […]


Leave a Reply

