Bisexuals get no LGBT love, apparently

The bisexual pride flag.

wtf, bisexuals have a flag too? Where is the straight flag!?!?! Image via Wikipedia

So I was browsing reddit, like I do, and I happened upon a mother telling her daughter she is a slut if she is bi. This shared text exchange caused me to revisit a bar conversation I had recently with sex journalist Rabbit White. Our conversation started out with the discussion of the  “queer” label’s rising popularity, but quickly moved over to the black sheep of the LGBT community: the bisexuals. The general feeling is either bisexuals are whores at heart or don’t know they’re gay yet.

This was news to me, but you’ll have to forgive me on this one – I never got into the whole LGBT community because a) I am not one for “groups”, b) I don’t really go around announcing my sexual orientation and c) I exhibit no visual markers or cues through my clothing or hair so my bisexuality rarely comes up. My sexual orientation is my own personal business, so in my silence I guess people  assume I am straight?  I never felt the need to “out” myself as a bisexual, but I think this is the problem the community has with me. I am either “confused”, an artsy chick trying to be edgy, or worse, one of those curious girls kissing each other at a frat party for “top dog” status. 

The idea of me being a slut though, cracks me up – I wish I was a loose woman. I wish I had one night stands.  I wish I didn’t have to get to know someone really well before I felt comfortable with them touching my private parts. As for me picking sides, what kind of nonsense is that?  I really don’t care what kind of genitals you have under your clothes, so how would I go about picking one when I like them all? Why isn’t everyone a bisexual? And how is it  non-bisexuals  don’t love all people? Why can’t straights, gays and lesbians get past gender to imagine love and happiness?  This importance placed on gender is such a primitive way of thinking, and in my opinion, lesbians, gays and straight folk are defective and narrow-minded.   Why are you so obsessed with genitals, people? That’s so 1st Century BC.

Did I sound self-righteous and arrogant in the previous paragraph?  … It was my intention. That sort of negative dialog is not something I would expect from a member of the LGBT community – it’s obviously counterproductive. Furthermore, making blanket statements about people’s sexuality and/or excluding a segment of the population based on their gender preferences distracts us from the real issue at hand: like why we, as humans, are still not comfortable with our own sexuality.

Additional reading:

The Next Great Generation –  Bisexuality: The Punching Bag Orientation

Rabbit Write – The Bisexual Struggle: Do I need to come out?

Yahoo Answers – Why are people so cynical about bisexuality?

reddit threads -

My boyfriend’s mom just found out I’m bisexual. Now she thinks I’m confused and doesn’t trust me.

Why is it that people absolutely refuse to take my Bisexuality seriously? I feel ostracized by both the straight community and gay community. It’s like no one believes that Bisexual people are really “bi”, like we are just faking it for attention or don’t know who we are yet.

Does anyone else find it hard to explain their bisexuality to people who don’t understand?

Bisexuality is looked down on in the LGBT community?

3 Comments on “Bisexuals get no LGBT love, apparently”

  1. Ahhhhh this is awesome. Good on you for coming out and omg-bisexual-flag, I know right? Also, still want to pick up the bar convo where we left it–how gender identity fits into sexual identity, how exploring your sexuality becomes exploring your gender.

  2. Red Herring says:

    “I wish I was a loose woman. I wish I had one night stands. I wish I didn’t have to get to know someone really well before I felt comfortable with them touching my private parts. As for me picking sides, what kind of nonsense is that? I really don’t care what kind of genitals you have under your clothes”

    THIS. This SO hard! I swear I’ve said different versions of this chunk about 50 times.

    Great article!

    As a bisexual person, I do however get VERY annoyed at those bisexual girls who ARE the “curious girls kissing each other at a frat party for “top dog” status.” especially when I get lumped in with them. Because I’m bisexual I MUST be an exhibitionist/promiscuous/easy/into threesomes right? ALL the rest are, of course!

    *facepalm*

    • Thanks for commenting Red Herring!

      It is annoying that bisexuals get lumped together, or aren’t taken as seriously, because of some curious college/HS’ers. Ultimately though, I don’t know why the LGBT community looks down on those girls either. They should be happy people are exploring their sexuality!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers