thou cyber sand (Twitter Poem #4)

The Funny Thing about Twitter:

 

the other day  “roman sandals” appeared

twice on my twitter

profile page

Some time later, romansandals starts following me

 

Romans:  stealer of gods but not the  shoe soles of whores

I am wary-

in bare cyber space, more than one user

leads to no safe place

so I leave no indent in the dirt, no greek tweet

and romansandals offers no akolouthi,

no use of language, or other “come follow me”

 

a user with more than

a thousand to read

a thousand to mark

a thousand for triumph, esteem

a thousand for fanning the line

 

romansandals leads me to a blog that exists

and no viral ambush awaits

in the given net space, but

another affront:

shoes and paparazzi, the Furies of celebrity

and the cheapness of the page, the turning

of the same old tricks

slur the said citizen in me

 

what roman sandals are these?

no Romans walked in sandals like these!

where is the sure-footed confidence?  the feeling of weight placed,

equal on each side

the sense of purpose and physical pride-

give and take, to communicate?

 

Instead, I am offered the burden of never-ending youth

and the pain of a crooked spine

I shunned the offer,

and as the oracles in the ether  said,

it came to pass

 

romansandals no longer acknowledges me

#FF #FTW

One Comment on “thou cyber sand (Twitter Poem #4)”

  1. raincoaster says:

    Only in social media can we BOTH Follow and Lead.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers